Skip to main content
fulton csd home Calendar facebook Lunch Menu SchoolTool

GRB Students Receive Academic Honors

Academic achievements of G. Ray Bodley High School (GRB) students were highlighted during the 34th annual academic awards evening.
Principal Donna Parkhurst called the event “the highlight of the year” for the freshmen, sophomores, juniors and seniors who have exceled in their knowledge and who are leaders in the community.
Members of the GRB orchestra performed as guests arrived in the auditorium. Members of the GRB concert choir sang the national anthem and the alma mater.
Guests in the packed auditorium offered cheers and applause upon each individual and group award. The following students received accolades:
Aryelle Barbagallo received the United States Air Force Math & Science Award, Cornell Alumni Association Book Nomination, Wesleyan University Book Award and the LeMoyne College Heights Award. Madeline Phillips-Sherman received the Laurence P. LaFrate Memorial Education Award and Deidre Murphy received the Smith College Book Award. Paige Rowlee was presented with the following awards: Yale Club of CNY Alumni Book Award and the Villanova Book Award. Mariah Holcomb and David Houck received the Attorney General Triple “C” Award while Cole Rothrock received the United States Air Force Scholar/Athlete of the Year Award.
The United States Air Force Technology Award, Brandeis University Book Award and the Clarkson University High School Leadership Award were given to Trey LaRock. Mallory Harter and Evan Beckwith received the United States Army Reserve National Scholar/Athlete Award, while Callie Beckwith and Nathan Shaw received the United States Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award. Nicholas Riciputo was selected to receive the United States Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award and salutatorian David Tallents received the United States Marine Corps “Semper Fidelis” Award.
Honorees also include: Frank Barbagallo (United States Navy Inspirational Leadership Award), Nicole Hansen (United States Navy Outstanding Athlete Award), Sabrina Verdoliva (United States Navy Outstanding Scholar Award), Emily Gerth (Dr. Paul Day Memorial Award), David Houck (Denison University Book Award) and Zachary Almeter and Kassidy Bowering (Journalism Award).
Ethan Wright received the Rensselaer Medal and both he and Stephanie Fowler received the R.I.T. Computing Medal and Scholarship Award. Valedictorian Caleb Almeter received the following honors: Lona A. Preston Memorial Mathematics Award, and Ryan Morehouse was the recipient of the Lawrence Technological University Award for Excellence in Science and Mathematics.
Additional awards are: Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award (Philip Summerville), Robert Rose Memorial Award (Sage Hourihan), U of R Frederick Douglass & Susan B. Anthony Humanities Award (Trent Berry), George Washington University Alumni Association Book Award (Megan Nicholson), R.I.T. Innovation and Creativity Award (Malcolm Wettering, Jr. and Miwa Burdic), Xerox Award for Innovation and Information Technology (Mariah Holcomb), Future Business Leaders of America Service Award (Tattiana Pierce, Kimberly Rombough and Julia Warner), Raider’s Den service Awards (Jarred Miller and Austin Poirer), and USC The Business College Award for Excellence in Business (Michael Bolster).
Also recognized were Domonique Johnson and Collin Bennett (American Citizenship Award), Liliana Rivera (New York state Comptroller Achievement Award), Paige Noel and Zachary Almeter (President’s Award for Educational Achievement), Callie Beckwith and Caleb Almeter (President’s Award for Educational Excellence), Charles Alton III (Challenge Award), Stacey Sereno (Peter LaFrate Memorial Award), Collin Bennett and Caleb Almeter (Gene MacDaniel Memorial Awards), Kimberly Hall (Pamela Fallesen Award), Marshall Carvey (Lieutenant Colonel Joseph P. Fuss Outstanding Leadership Award), and Sydney Gilmore (Wellesley Book Award).
Makhali Voss received the Johns Hopkins Book Award. James Ward received the Bowdoin College Book Award and Sarah Tallents took home the Rachel Carson Book Award. Sarah Rice was given the Dartmouth Alumni Club Book Award and the Mount Holyoke College Book Award went to Shannon Zych.
Megan Nicholson and David Houck received the St. Michael’s Book Award for Academic Achievement and Social Conscience, while Paige Rowlee and Nathan Shaw received the Randolph College Book Award. Andrew Yankowsky received the Clarkson University High School Achievement Award and Sarah Rice received the Clarkson School Scholars Award. The Elmira College “Key” Award was given to Emily Gerth and Frank Barbagallo, while the Student SAGE Award was given to David Houck and Erin Baker.
Megan Nicholson also took home the University of Rochester George Eastman Young Leaders Award; Carissa Lee took home the Wells College 21st Century Leadership Award and the St. Lawrence University Book Award went to Stacey Sereno.
Also honored were math club members and students with academic excellence in English Language Arts, mathematics, science, social studies, technology, art, robotics, family and consumer science, business, languages other than English, health and physical education.
Special recognition went to the top 25 students from each GRB class.

Pictured below are a few photos from the awards night:







Brian Pulvino, Superintendent
129 Curtis Street
Fulton, New York 13069
Phone: (315) 593-5500

Developed by CNYRIC